Doris’ Hat

Doris had asked me to make her a hat back in spring, we have talked about it off and on until a couple of weeks ago she finally gave me the patterns she printed out from Ravelry.  I settled on this cable slouch hat and this did not take long at all to make.  It only took me an evening or so and I love the feel of the finished product.  

I bought some cascade yarn from the shop, but then the more I looked at it the more I was not happy with my color choice.  I love the light gray, but since she had requested something in darker color I knew it was not the right choice.   Good thing I found the exact shade she wanted in Bernat Satin.  I had used this yarn before for making toys and blankets but never as an accessory, I hope this yarn holds up well has a hat.

She was very excited when I sent her the picture of the finished hat.  Doris just lost her beloved mom about a month ago, and I hope that this gesture might some how warm her heart a little.  It is such a tough time for her, especially Christmas is coming right around the corner.

I know what it means when someone stop long enough to show care.  That is the least I can do for her.

About mamaj

mom with two grown up girls, children pastor, avid knitter, coffee-lover, bear-collector. I love reading, hanging out with my girl friends and yes, I am owned by a golden lab, Jaden.
This entry was posted in hats. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment